Scones on Sunday! (Vegan MoFo 2013)

Image

 

I wanted to make something simple yet tasty with the tiny apples I scrumped yesterday. It also seemed appropriate to kick off MoFo with a scone recipe, and what better Sunday Brunch can you have than a delicious apple and cinnamon scone? ( Unless you’re talking about something involving fried potatoes, of course. That goes without saying!).

There are a lot of apple scone recipes floating around, but irritatingly they all call for apples by the number of apples, rather than giving an idea of weight or cup size. A search for “how much does a medium apple weigh” or “how many cups does x pounds of apples make” led me to believe that one medium cooking apple comes in at around 3/4 cup, so that’s the amount I grated. Here’s my recipe, based on the fruits of my internet searches and peeking into a few baking books.

Ingredients:

225g (2 cups) plain flour

60g (6 Tablespoons) caster sugar

60g (believe this is 2oz or 1/2 stick) fat. I used half Vitalite and half refined coconut oil.

145g (3/4 cup) grated cooking apple

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Method: 

Pre-heat oven to 200 degrees C (400 degrees F, gas mark 6) – mine is fan assisted.

Seive everything apart from the apples and fat into a bowl. Add the fat and cut it in with a knife. After cutting in, mix the fat in with fingertips to make a fine breadcrumb texture. Set aside bowl.

Wash apples. Most recipes ask you to peel them but my apples were so tiny there wouldn’t have been much left! Instead I used a fine grater:

Image

Once I had 3/4 cup (which took 7 of the apples) I weighed them, and added them into the bowl of dry mix. To avoid over-mixing I used the same sort of cutting-in technique with a table knife that I used with the fat, turning and scraping the sides of the bowl to get it well incorporated.

Most apple scone recipes call for milk to be added, to make a soft but not sticky dough. However, the apples already added quite a bit of moisture, so the addition of 1 extra tablespoon of water was all that was needed to bring the dough together. 

Not sure what shape I would prefer, I went for 1 big scone and 6 smaller ones. Here’s the big one on its tray before baking:

Image

It went into the oven for 15 minutes, though I checked and turned it after 10 as the oven doesn’t bake evenly. This is how it came out:

Image

 

And once it’d cooled down for about 15 minutes I got to try it. One recipe I saw recommended adding preserves, so I had one piece with my mum’s home-made mixed fruit jam and some Vitalite. Of course, I had to have a piece without jam to compare! Image

The verdict: This was a very tasty Sunday breakfast, although to be honest the apple flavour doesn’t come through very much. Most of the recipes I saw suggested only half a teaspoon of cinnamon, so maybe I was greedy to add a whole one. Nevertheless, I feel this was a valid use of half of my apple haul!

12 Comments on “Scones on Sunday! (Vegan MoFo 2013)”

  1. Your scone looks very yummy indeed, my brunch was broad bean pate, not your average Sunday brunch but tasty even so. I’ve signed up for Vegan Mofo too – first time and my theme is everything bean like due to the quantities I’m harvesting from my back garden. Have fun, Jasmine x

    Like

  2. Mihl says:

    Those look very tasty! We had waffles this morning, but next Sunday I want scones!!!

    Like

  3. Kelly says:

    They look delicious!

    Like

  4. I love scones and apples. Yum!

    I never peel my apples if I’m grating them… I have a pancake recipe and a couple other recipes I use grated apple in and it’s just an extra step I like to avoid. Extra nutrition, right? 🙂

    Like

  5. Jojo says:

    I love apples, brunch and scones! What a perfect start to MoFo.

    Like

  6. sara says:

    yum! i’ve had chocolate chip scones, but never scones containing fruit. these sound perfect for fall!

    Like

    • dropscone says:

      Indeed. I think it was the little nip in the air that made me think scones would be a good idea. If I make them again I’ll definitely put some chunks of apple in there too, and maybe some sultanas and hazelnuts.

      Like

  7. indialeigh says:

    mmn, fresh warm appley scones. Yes, this is what September and Sundays are all about! Happy MoFo!
    India http://www.aveganobsession.com

    Like

  8. I’m very interested to see a vegan scone recipe. I make a lot of scones, but they’re not vegan because they include milk and egg. I would like to try making them with coconut oil, I never thought of substituting that for my usual fat. Your finished product looks delicious, apple and cinnamon scones are a lovely taste combination and pear makes a nice alternative to apple. The great thing about scones is you can put virtually anything in them, sweet or savoury. A dash of maple syrup gives the dought a nice smooth texture too.

    Like


please leave a reply (if you want to)...

