Market Monday – bargain of the day (VeganMoFo 2013)

I’m lucky enough to work within easy walking distance of what was apparently voted ‘Britain’s favourite market’ in 2009. It’s rather a large affair:Image

and there are quite a few stalls selling similar things, particularly fruit and veg, so prices are very competitive. 

Today’s bargain – 6 bananas for 50p. Here are five of them, I ate one while I was at work. 

Image

 

Having forked over my coin of the realm, I went around the other side of the stall (to get to my next purchase, some root ginger for a quid), only to discover I could have had over double the amount of bananas for the same price, just with a few more brown spots. It’s probably just as well I didn’t though, as my freezer is a bit full.

Stay tuned for the next thrilling instalment to find out what I made with my market purchases, and about the kindness of a work colleague…

7 Comments on “Market Monday – bargain of the day (VeganMoFo 2013)”

  1. Dawn says:

    I have to admit I’m a little jealous of being in walking distance to that market! I’m 30 minutes from the closest decent farmer’s market.

    Like

  2. Wow, that market looks huge. So cool!

    Like

  3. Mihl says:

    That is still a good deal!

    Like

  4. vixki says:

    Mm I love the market! I got two pounds of mushrooms for 50p a few weeks ago, would have cost me a lot more in the supermarket! This time of year is good for buying peppers at the market, much cheaper than at the supermarket.

    Like

  5. Vegan Meema says:

    How cool to be living so close to a farmers market. I think the closet one to us is over 30 miles and probably more like 40. Yes, I live out in the country in southern Texas.

    Like


please leave a reply (if you want to)...

