£100 challenge – day twenty-three

First, here’s a picture of my empty tissue box, with the jaunty cover crocheted by my friend Cathleen. It was one of my favourite birthday presents back in July, and I took it to work to cheer up my desk space, a job it accomplishes admirably. You can see why I’m eager to restore it to its full tissue-spouting glory!

tissue box with rainbow striped cover

No money spent today so I’m in credit, and could rush out and spend £6.40 with a clear conscience in the next 43 minutes, or £9.63 tomorrow. This is good. I’m well on target, so even £1 for a square box of tissues from Superdrug, though I could get double the tissues for two-thirds the price by choosing a value brand in an oblong box, is a modest extravagance I’m prepared to meet.

Since I’m doing okay this month, but planning on cutting next months budget down, and since I’m making up my own rules, I now have to ask myself what happens if I end up over or under target. Do I start with a clean slate, or should any saving be rewarded by being able to roll over some or all of any underspend?

I do have a dental check-up due early next month, think that will come to £22.50, so it would be helpful to bring some over, but maybe less of a challenge?

3 Comments on “£100 challenge – day twenty-three”

  1. leaydwi says:

    If your under target I’d try and get some “treat” (be it super nice tissues or a chocolate bar…). If your over target I’d just try to figure out why you did. You should start with a clean slate, I think. I used to take the “debt” into the next months when I did 100 euro a month plans but that’s really difficult and makes it hard.

    Like

  2. Rachel says:

    Oh yes, it’s definitely worth buying tissues just to use that tissue box cover!

    Like

  3. I think that if you come under budget for the month, you should split whatever is leftover into savings and splurging. So say you had £10 left, £5 would be spent on treats for you, then the other £5 could be saved in the piggy bank for a later date 🙂

    Like


please leave a reply (if you want to)...

