November ninety – day twenty-eight

I get paid once a month, and today is payday. Usually I buy myself something small as a payday treat. Maybe have lunch out, or buy something small but not entirely necessary. But not today. It’s very unusual to look at the calendar and realise it’s payday and have that make no particular difference to the day (though actually I did then go and check it’d gone in at the bank, so I suppose it did affect my day a bit after all!).

I’m in the UK, so obviously I’m not celebrating Thanksgiving, but since so many people I intereact with online are in the USA or Canada (who I believe had their Thanksgiving about five weeks ago?) I’ve been thinking about the things I have to be thankful for. These challenges have been super helpful for making me appreciate having enough. I may not be rich, but I still have the opportunity and ability to work for pay, I have friends and parents who would help me out if I were really in need, I live in a city where there’s quite a lot of stuff going on that it’s possible to participate in even on a slim-to-none budget. I’m thankful that I’ve been able to eat a relatively healthy diet even on a budget, in great part because of other people’s generosity with their autumn harvests, as well as the good amount of choice available at the market, local supermarkets and greengrocers all within walking distance.

I’m also very relieved that my scales have swung the other way this morning. If I don’t weigh in at 20lb lighter on Sunday than I was on 9th June, I have to pay £100 forfeit as part of a weight-loss challenge. I was bang on target until a few days ago, then suddenly put on 3 lb with less than a week to go. Thankfully it was just a temporary blip and I was back on target this morning, but I’m not taking any chances, it’s all tofu, rye crispbreads and tinned tomatoes (livened up with dried herbs and other low-fat condiments) until Sunday. Okay, well I did have a tiny morsel of Christmas pudding in some porridge this morning, but just a mere hint to give it some interest!

Tofu £1.30, Finn Crisp £1.20 and two tins of Suma tomatoes at 76p each means I spent £4.02 today. I’ve had 2/3 of the tofu and crispbreads but only half a tin of tomatoes so far. £81.52 total spend for the month up to now, target max for day 28 is £84. Unless something unexpected happens in the next two days it looks like I’m going to make it! 🙂

2 Comments on “November ninety – day twenty-eight”

  1. love the idea of the weight loss challenge, I may have to try this! Well done on meeting target 🙂

    Like

    • dropscone says:

      Thank you! Weigh in isn’t until tomorrow, but unless someone force-feeds me with chips this evening I’m pretty sure I’ll be on goal tomorrow 🙂

      We’ll be starting another challenge in January to lose a further ten pounds by June (with the same £100 forfeit agreement) if anyone wants to join in you’d be very welcome.

      Like


please leave a reply (if you want to)...

