£59.73

…is the total I spent this month. Big spends were my £5 haircut, a screwdriver and the top up money on a meal out at Pizza Express where most of the bill was covered by Tesco clubcard vouchers. Most of the rest of my money went on food, despite my resolve to finish off the cupboards.

Bulk purchases of onions, chickpeas and lentils made in December have come good this month and been switched-up with five-spice, curry powder and different cooking techniques. I have been missing ingredients that would usually be in my cupboards though, and have had a running wish list, which goes something like this:

  • Lemons
  • Fresh coriander (cilantro)
  • Cumin seeds
  • Bouillon powder (probably rely on this too much but it’s so handy!)
  • Frozen peas
  • Dried apricots
  • Almonds
  • Hot sauce (although one of my intended projects was a diy one – anyone got a good recipe?)
  • Rice noodles
  • Cooking oil (ran out halfway through the month, and am down to last dribble of olive)
  • Wholemeal bread flour
  • Sugar
  • Leafy greens

So that’s my shopping list for tomorrow, plus laundry stuff.

January was successfully kept dry, though I did put a slug of vanilla essence into something early on without thinking about the spirit base. It’s really not been too bad a month, but a bit boring! Thinking about ways to make future ones better, I might try a mandatory activities budget combined with a no food except fruit and veg rule, because I’ve still got oodles of chickpeas, lentils, tinned chestnut purée and other bits and bobs, and the frozen fruit is holding strong. The apples have been wonderful in smoothies!

I was planning on finishing the month with a trip to the new Healthy Planet free bookshop recently arrived on Leicester High Street opposite the lower entrance to the Highcross Centre. It’s a lovely idea for saving books from landfill. Unfortunately they were closed when I got there this afternoon, so it’ll have to be a post for another day.

please leave a reply (if you want to)...

