Time to get back on the horse…

It’s been quiet here  on the blogging because there was nothing much to write about. Slacked off, didn’t keep to a budget, now I’m looking at going on holiday later in the year and realising there’s no way I’ll afford it unless the belt goes in a few notches, so I’m aiming for another £3 a day month for May. I’ve kept to my resolution of no alcohol for the year, so that’ll help a bit, even if the price of soft drinks in pubs is a shocking rip off. It’s not tempting to drink to more than a pint of j2o, especially since it now tastes of artificial sweeteners.

I’ve been enjoying some of the fruits of spring this month, with my first taste of unprocessed goosegrass/cleavers/many more country soubriquets, also known as galium aparine if you want the fancy latin name. This is a bit unpleasant texture-wise to eat raw, but the taste is mild, reminding me somewhat of lettuce. It has a long history of use as a spring tonic, and it grows abundantly on wasteland, in parks, friends’ gardens (not by their wishes!). I only have a couple of sprigs in my own garden but they disappeared into a smoothie today and I’ll pop over to the local park tomorrow and see if there are some in a not-too-dog-accessible spot!

Also on the menu for the first time – allium triquetrum, or three-cornered leek/wild garlic (although many other things are also known as wild garlic).

I look forward to getting down to some serious foraging and developing a few recipes with the results.

 

3 Comments on “Time to get back on the horse…”

  1. Laura says:

    Your money saving posts are such an inspiration to me! Looking forward to them!

    Like

  2. Good luck with your budget challenge, a holiday is definitely a good motivator!

    Like

  3. I’m back on the budget bandwagon too 🙂 I look forward to reading your posts.

    Like


please leave a reply (if you want to)...

