It’s that time once mo’…

The month of vegan food blogging is here again: VeganMoFo will be on for the whole of September and I’m getting excited to see people’s quirky, inventive themes, beautiful food styling and witty commentary. I love seeing the stuff folks come up with, and it’s a great challenge too! Even if you’re not vegan, it’s a great opportunity to try out new vegan food and show off what you can make or find.

Of course, not everyone will produce spectacular food that has been photographed beautifully. Witness my first item.

Photo5655

Can you guess what it is? That’s right! Tiger bread!!

No? You think it’s more of a lumpy burnt-looking possibly-a-cat? Yeah, well the only way is up from here, my friends!

It puzzles me when people don’t understand why vegans or vegetarians would want to eat fake meat. I think anyone who has been veg*n for any length of time gets pretty tired of explaining that it’s not the taste most of us didn’t like, it’s the idea of something having to have gone through pain and death to get to our plates, so I thought I’d take the ‘eating fake animals’ thing to the extreme this MoFo and cover all the tasty animals we can eat that aren’t really animals at all.

One small hitch is that I’ve got about 8 ideas at the moment (and the goal of MoFo is to post at least 20 times in the month), so expect it to get pretty tenuous towards the end! Or I may just give up and start posting pictures of sandwiches. The above abomination came about because I only realised when I came to stripe-up my tiger-patterned pizza that I didn’t have any olives or in fact anything dark and savoury so I just left the tomato-paste and turmeric orange base on, thinking I could go out and get some olives to top it once it was baked. Then I burnt it. Like I say, it can only get better from here!

15 Comments on “It’s that time once mo’…”

  1. melanie says:

    Hey, I guessed it was a cat. I feel so clever now. *off to look up Tiger Bread.

    Like

  2. I would eat your dino-kitty tiger bread, dropscone. 🙂

    Like

  3. Bonnie says:

    I love it! Maybe it’s not entirely what you were going for but whatever animal it is, I think it looks adorable.

    Like

  4. Martine says:

    That is the cutest tiger-dinosaur bread I ever saw. It looks so happy, bouncing around and wagging its wee tail!

    Like

  5. Awww, I love it!! Humpback cat!

    Like

  6. hastalavegan says:

    This is awesome, I love it!

    Like

  7. I thought it was a dinosaur!

    Like

  8. Julie says:

    Hehe, my guess was a dinosaur cat! It’s so cute! Sounds like a fun theme; looking forward to your posts! 🙂

    Like

  9. Peas & Compassion says:

    I love it! I’ll have to try to think of some recipes that can be taken to that extreme – can you make a veganized elephant ear? (And if so can you *please* share the recipe because I miss elephant ears/fried dough?!?)

    Like

  10. Great to ‘meet’ you! I am also in the UK (norwich) and run a vegan bakery! I love your blog! 🙂

    Like

  11. I love your theme and I think this is a great first post for Vegan MoFo 🙂

    Like

  12. Sail says:

    This is super adorable and I love your theme! I’m planning to make several animal inspired dishes this month too. I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    Argh, I’ve been fighting with wordpress so I’m sorry if this comment shows up multiple times.

    Like

  13. ange1ac says:

    Hi – thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving comments. I decided it was time I visited your’s! Love the tiger bread… I thought it was a cat too. Great to see another blogger from Leicester and I have enjoyed reading about your recipes. I am not a vegetarian but I don’t like meat much (particularly red meat). I love vegetables though.

    Like


please leave a reply (if you want to)...

