Prep for next week, part 1

I’ve already got my dry goods ready to go, and I’m just about to take a trip to Aldi for the fresh veg. I’m not a regular Aldi customer as it’s not within my usual walking area so I was a bit dismayed to read on someone else’s blog that the 39p potatoes I was hoping to buy there were part of a special offer which ended last week.

I have £2.09 left to spend, and I was aiming for a red cabbage (45p), carrots (49p) and potatoes (which I thought were going to be 39p) which would have left me with 74p for a jar of cooking sauce/tomato puree and a bulb of garlic, or some jam, or a litre of soya milk – I hadn’t quite decided yet. If I just buy cabbage and carrot that leaves me with £1.15. I could either just buy a couple of loose potatoes, or I could spend the whole lot on a big bag of potatoes, or 65p on a bag of frozen basics chips from Sainsbury’s leaving me 50p for more flavouring options. Ack, I dunno! Maybe I’ll just leave the potatoes altogether for now and see how I get on! Might be good to have some spare pennies.

I really dithered about whether to set up a fundraising page for the challenge next week or not. In the end I decided it couldn’t hurt to make a quick way for people to donate if they felt like it, so here’s a page for Unicef, partly because they say they’re already in place to help those affected by the dreadful earthquake which has just happened in Nepal. https://www.justgiving.com/dropsconelbl15

I’m also open to suggestions for other charities, preferably those that are already linked up on JustGiving or another site which offers mobile phone text message donating, because donating by text seems not to incur an admin fee so 100% of the donation goes to the charity.

please leave a reply (if you want to)...

